Veronica Nolan: Leader in Philanthropy, Volunteerism and Service

Greater DC Cares Announces ‘Class of Change 2009’

20 Emerging Lifelong and Leaders in Philanthropy, Volunteerism and Service to be Recognized at 20th Anniversary Event

Washington, DC, October 19, 2009 – Greater DC Cares, the leading nonprofit coordinator of volunteerism and service in the Washington, DC region, is pleased to announce the honorees for the 2009 Class of Change. This year’s class of twenty emerging and lifelong champions in philanthropy, volunteerism and service are being honored as a part of Greater DC Cares’ 20th anniversary celebration of service.

“We are excited to join the region in honoring this year’s class.  They truly represent our region’s most distinguished leaders of philanthropy, volunteerism, and service,” said Dr. Madye Henson, President and CEO at Greater DC Cares. “This year’s event will be a celebration of their incredible work and the impact Greater DC Cares has made across the region over the past 20 years.”

The 2009 Class of Change honorees are:

  • Peter Ahearn – Volunteer, Washington, DC Veterans Medical Center
  • Adam Barr – Founder, DC for Obama
  • Lyles Carr – Senior Vice President, The McCormick Group
  • Phil Collyer – President & CEO, National Assembly Business Services
  • Marvin Dickerson – President & CEO, Dickerson Technologies, LLC
  • Terri Freeman – President, The Community Foundation, National Capital Region
  • Casey Golden – Founder Managing Partner & CEO, Small Act Network
  • Christine Hart – Wright – Executive Director, STRIVE,DC
  • Jeff Keitelman – Partner, DLA Piper and Founder of Greater DC Cares
  • Jim Lamb – President, Commonwelth Consultants
  • Debra Lange – Associate, Foley & Lardner
  • Kirsten Lodal – Co-Founder, National Student Partnerships (now LIFT)
  • Justine Love – Director of Community & Public Affairs, WPGC FM and AM radio stations
  • Mario Morino – Chairman, Morino Institute and Venture Philanthropy Partners
  • Honey Nashman – Director of Human Service Program, The George Washington University
  • Veronica Nolan – Executive Director, Urban Alliance
  • Julie Rogers – President, Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer Foundation
  • Daanen Strachan – Chairman and Founding Partner, ARS Energy
  • Robert Vinson Brannum – Chairman, 5th District Citizen’s Advisory Council
  • Tien Wong – Chairman and CEO, Opus8, Inc.

The class will be honored at the Class of Change event on November 12, 2009 at the Kellogg Conference Center at Gallaudet University from 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. The evening will commemorate Greater DC Cares’ 20th anniversary and will also feature a silent auction. For tickets or information regarding the event and this year’s honors, visit